Latest News

Australia Skilled nominated or Sponsored provisional visa (subclass 489) is for those who are looking for permanent residency in Australia. It is a point-based program and the applicant has to be nominated by the state or territory. They can also be sponsored by an eligible relative living in a designated area of the country. The condition is the immigrant can stay and work in a specific region only. The validity of this visa is for four years and it can also include family members.

Australia Skilled nominated or Sponsored provisional visa (subclass 489) replaced the offshore skilled – regional sponsored Subclass 475 visa as well as the onshore Subclass 487 visa in the year 2012-13.

Calculate Your 65 Points!


Eligibility and process of Permanent Legal Residence in Australia under the Australia Skilled nominated or Sponsored provisional visa (subclass 489)

  • The candidate must have lived for 2 years in the specific region or worked for 1 year in the region. The region needs to be lightly populated. It has to be a growth area in the country.
  • Submit the Expression of Interest (EOI) via the skill select program.
  • The candidate can be from Australia and another place as well.
  • Occupational experience in the same occupation with the skill set nominated under the MLSTSSL and STSOL.
  • The credentials of the applicant must be assessed by the official authority for the assessment of the same.
  • The age must be between 18 years to 50 years.
  • The candidate must meet the minimum criteria under the general skilled Migration program – English proficiency, fitness, and character certificate are a must.
  • The candidate must get 65 points under the point-based system.

Family members

The applicant can take –

  • Spouse/partner along with him
  • Dependent child
  • Dependent relative

Eligibility for applying for family members

  • Must have been living or working in the designated region of the country
  • They are allowed to study in a specific region/ area only
  • If the visa is valid, they can travel both inside and outside of Australia.
  • The candidates can apply for permanent residency in the country via the Skilled Regional (Residence) visa subclass 887 if the applicant meets certain conditions.

Australia Subclass 489 Visa holders’ obligations

  • Minimum stay of two years in the state or territory
  • Have to inform about the change in residence/address
  • Completing surveys

Eligibility for getting sponsored by an eligible family member

  • They must have spent the dedicated time in the country.
  • They must have worked there along with living.

Who is eligible Relative?

Relative of the Applicant can be an Australian Citizen/ permanent resident or an eligible citizen of New Zealand with a minimum age of 18 years and above.

Relation with the applicant (including step-relatives)

  • Child of the applicant
  • Parent of the applicant
  • Brother or sister
  • Niece or nephew
  • Aunty and uncle
  • Grandparents or first cousins

List of the states or territories that are part of Australia subclass 489

  • New South Wales
  • Victoria
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Northern Territory
  • Tasmania
  • Western Australia


Fees structure

  • If you are applying for the skilled regional sponsored (Prov) then the fees are AUD 3755
  • For additional applicant above 18 years – AUD 1875
  • For additional applicants within 18 years - AUD 940.